Jar of Beans

Jar of Beans

Okay, it’s not those kind of beans, but it is a jarful of dried kidney beans. I stole the idea from Holy Heroes Lenten Adventure, and continued it past the Lenten season. They called it the sacrifice jar. (The child is to add a bean to the jar if they do a sacrifice).

At the time, my kids didn’t quite understand the concept of sacrifice, but they did understand if they would do something nice around the house….they would get a bean. So I combined the jar with a chore/school chart and voila….we have beans. The idea is that each child has a chart and for every item they complete on the chart, they get a bean.  When the jar is full, a special activity or surprise is in order.  My kids chose miniature golfing for filling up the jar. I’m happy to oblige if it helps them (and me) learn some skills around the house. I also use this chart to make sure I work with them on ‘school’ activities too.

This is a picture of the chart I’ve made up.  I just used an excel spreadsheet and added a picture and the name of each child.  (And no, I did not make one up for the 1 yo….maybe in a few months??)

Chore Chart

Chore Chart

I left an ‘extra’ space for any ‘good’ things that they do during the day;  being nice to the sisters, doing something that they didn’t want to….but did it anyway, etc…  Add pictures and names to personalize it more. If anyone out there has any other great ideas for helping kids learn household chores and sacrifices please share them here.

