Well, as most of you have read, we are going to be expanding our family in March. Here is a picture of the new little tyke (just over 17.5 wks old in this ultrasound).

Baby #4

Baby #4

Which got me thinking, now that we are going to have 4 kids 6yrs and under, we need to start cutting expenses. The first thing that came to mind is diapers! They are expensive and the amount of garbage that I’m contributing to the landfill is not something I want to be thinking about….. So to the internet I went and low and behold, I found great cloth diapers….at $30+ each! Well, that wasn’t really saving money, so I thought to myself, how hard is it to make these things?

So I found some great website tutorials, here and here, and stitched up a few. I went with the Velcro, AI2 (all in two). This just means that it is waterproof with a detachable soaker liner (so it would dry faster). Here is my final product.

My version of the AI2 diaper (with pul layer hidden)

My version of the AI2 diaper (with pul layer hidden)

Of course hindsight is 20/20, I should have taken during shots to show how I put the thing together. When I make more I’ll definately show additional photos. My goal is to make a diaper that will grow with the kid, utilizing snaps or velcro to increase/decrease the size.

I still haven’t cut over completely to the cloth ones, I’m still unsure about leakage…my sewing techniques are not quite up to par. But so far so good. Also, it was a great way to use up some scrap cloth I had : ) If you have any words of advice, or additional websites that I should check out, let me know!!

Oh, I got the PUL fabric from www.verybaby.com. They seemed to have reasonable prices and the shipping was fast! (Considering I live in Canada, and they were down in the states….a little more than a week). You can’t seem to find that type of fabric in the stores, at least not around here : )

