Okay, so our family took a mini-vacation off to the Lake last week and I decided I would do the ECO mama thing and brought our cloth diapers along.

I read somewhere (I can’t remember, so please forgive me), that you could hand wash your diapers using a pail and a toilet plunger. Okay, now that you’ve stopped laughing here are my results…

My tools: (5 gal bucket, toilet plunger, baking soda, detergent and a catch basin for the wet diapers)

Hand Washing tools!

My sequence went as follows:
1. Cold water with a bit of baking soda, agitated with plunger for 5 min?
2. Drain/squeezed out water and rinsed with cold water again (agitated) and squeezed out water.
3. Boiling water with a teeny tiny amount of detergent to cover and then agitate for another 5min and squeezed out extra water. Don’t kill me, but I did use a commercial brand of detergent and poured it out on the ground…I should have used a more earth friendly detergent.)
4. Rinse with cold water and agitate. Squeezed out water and hung to dry.

Flapping in the 'breeze'.

My opinion on this whole adventure? I didn’t like it 😦   It took way too much time to wash the diapers, close to an hour each day. And the drying time was crazy…close to 8 hrs! (Probably because I couldn’t get all the extra water out) And towards the end of 3 days, the diapers were getting stinky as soon as they got wet. So I must not have done it right.

Any suggestions? Please list them here or post a link!!! I would love to go off to the Lake again in the future without having to resort to disposables or even to a laundry mat (there is one in the town close by, but that means sticking around town for almost 2 hours while I wash/dry diapers every day!)

Happy 4th of July to my American Friends!  And Happy Belated Canada Day to my fellow Canucks!

