I took the plunge last week and tried dyeing my 95/5 blend wool interlock with kool-aid!  I’ve hand dyed yarn before with food colouring so I was confidant that this would work.  And did it ever!  This is a fun project that I’m going to get the kids more involved in next time.

Here are the tools I used:

These are the steps that I took:

  • warm water with some dawn liquid, soaked it for 5min
  • rinsed with cool water
  • warm water with a couple of glugs of vinegar and soaked for 10min
  • mixed up 3 packets of lime kool-aid with a bit of leaf green wilton food colouring with 2 cups of warm water and 1/4 cup vinegar.
  • put it all in my dutch oven on the stove, added a bit more water so the soaker would be submerged and boiled/simmered until all the colouring was gone from the water. (about 1/2 hour)

  • Let it cool down for 5min then rinsed under cool water (no colouring came out!)
  • rolled it up in a towel and let it dry.

Here is the finished product.  My not so little baby, Nicholas is modelling it for me!  Can you believe he is almost 5 months old already?   (Just a note, I did lanolize the soaker before putting it on him.  I’ll save the explanation for another post)

I’m sure this method would work with any natural fibre fabric or yarn!  If you’ve done something similar, post a link in the comments section, I’d love to see it.

