So I’ve been promising for years to write down my conversion story. Well, I don’t have a one ‘a-ha’ moment, but I do remember something very clearly.

The first time I went to church all.by.myself, just happened to be on the Feast Day of the Baptism of the Lord. So imagine to my surprise when the homily was all about Baptisms. Now remember, at this time I had no knowledge of church ‘seasons’, or feast days, so I really believe that God was answering my prayers. (Do I become Catholic?) So that very day after Mass I contacted the RCIA director of the parish (a sweet man named Deacon Jim), and he came over that very afternoon! He handed me a bible and asked me to come to a meeting that week and 2 years later I was being Baptized at the Basilica of St. Mary’s in Minneapolis, MN.  My then fiancé (now my husband) was my sponsor. I joke with him and call him my God Father!  I know, not much of a conversion story, but that is really how it all started. All because I decided to go to Mass on the feast day of the Baptism of the Lord. (Which just happened to be celebrated yesterday.)

