I know I haven’t been posting much lately, well I do have a reason……On May 6th we were expecting our 5th baby to be born just before Christmas, we were so happy but also scared because we would officially be moving into the ‘larger’ family club. Less than a week later, we were burying the remains of our 7wk, 3 day old with the help of our former parish priest.

This was the second miscarriage I’ve experienced. The first one happened Sept 1st, 2002, only a few months after we were married. I don’t remember much about it. Not too much physical pain, but mostly emotional pain and anger. Now that I’ve had 4 living children, this one really hit us hard.  Over the years, my husband and I know and understand more about our Catholic Faith, so we really wanted to be sure that we did everything that we were supposed too for this lost child. We turned to the EWTN Q & A website, Catholic answers and any other websites that we could find on miscarriages.

The hardest part was telling my oldest daughter.  She’s almost 8, and was overjoyed at the possibility of another sibling, but when we told her we lost the baby she was devestated.  We reassured her that we had another Saint in Heaven watching over us and praying for us and that made her feel better.

Now that it has been almost a month since we lost the baby, and I’m starting to feel a bit better emotionally.  Who knows what God has in store for us?  A bigger family?  Who knows, we are just trying to say yes to his will…one day at a time.

I hope this post can help others who may be suffering or have suffered a miscarriage.

